news cheat sheet


I am as guilty as anyone of not keeping up with the news. I guilt myself about because I feel a moral, academic and professional obligation to know the headlines. The thing is, keeping up with the news shouldn´t be so hard. Few people have the time of day to read in depth content on every region of the world, and then remember said content. Nonetheless, global politics and economics still frequently have a trickle down effect, making it worthwhile to be generally informed. So I’ve decided to compile a Cheat Sheet of internet resources for quick news. The following are links I’ve incorporated into my internet regime on the days that I´m too busy, too tired, too full-of-excuses to peruse the depths of the Internet for my news sources.  Here goes.

1. Most obviously, The Daily Beast Cheat Sheet 

A friend of mine, who introduced me to the Cheat Sheet, described it to me as the top news stories one should read “to not be an idiot who doesn’t know anything that’s going on in the world.” Sold.  I’m not a fan of TDB’s “Read This, Skip That” tagline… but the beauty of The Daily Beast is its digestibility.  No pretentious vocabulary, no pre-requisite Political Science Ph.D. to get something out of it.

2. BBC NEWS

Okay, so this is hardly a ¨quick¨news site. However, this is a great site for visual people; its format is user friendly and easy to navigate. The front page features international headlines, stock exchange updates, and audiovisual media. Moreover, the BBC is an excellent and reliable source for hard news.

3. Twitter

I never thought I’d live to see this day; I used to sneer in the face of Twitter, saying that it’s for “people who don’t  have a personality”. Several years, look what happened.   Al Jazeerah headlines, updates from my favourite journalists, reading material tailored to me.

4. Google News

Much like with Twitter, the reader can personalise their newsfeed. Google News offers the advantage of more available adjustments: your language, summary blurbs underneath all headlines–and the coolest part: one can personalise the ratio of World to Economic to Domestic news categories with an interactive toolbar (pictured above).

Leave a Reply

